Call for Nominations: IASA Executive Council

(Nov 08, 2013)

Dear IASA Members:

The Elections Committee (Dennis Barone, Alan Gravano, and Stefano Luconi) is soliciting nominations and self-nominations for five Council member positions.

To qualify for these Council member positions, the candidate must be a member in good standing and must attend the spring Executive Council meeting. The term for Council members elected in 2013 begins in January of 2014 and is for two years.

If you would like to nominate someone, please check with the person first to make sure that she or he would like to run for the position. All nominations and self-nominations should be sent to the Elections Committee Chair, Alan J. Gravano, by 11:59 PM Sunday, November 17, 2013, at:

Please attach a short bio (no more than 300 words) and your vision for the future of IASA in which you highlight your main accomplishments in the field of Italian American Studies, your involvement with IASA, and your projected contribution as IASA Executive Council member.

The Elections Committee will set up a ballot on Survey Monkey with approximately a two-week period (November 18-29) to allow members to cast their votes.

I thank you for your cooperation.

Alan J. Gravano, Elections Committee Chair
Dennis Barone, Elections Committee Member
Stefano Luconi, Elections Committee Member


George Guida, President
Michael Eula, Vice President
Alan J. Gravano, Secretary
Dawn Esposito, Treasurer
Alexandra de Luise, Curator

Past President
Josephine Gattuso Hendin

Newsletter Editor
Robert Oppedisano

Karen Lauria Kosi

Executive Council
Dennis Barone (2014)
Joanne Detore (2014)
Marisa Frasca (2014)
Chiara Mazzucchelli (2013)
Fred Misurella (2014)
Robert Oppedisano (2014)
Joe Ricapito (2014)
John Paul Russo (2013)
Joseph Sciorra (2013)
Anthony Julian Tamburri (2013)
Stefano Luconi (2013)